Why Do I Blog? Hmmm…

My first go at Strawberry Singh‘s series of blogging memes. This is an existential one: Why do I blog? (There’s an outfit below if you’ve just come for the pictures!)

  1. How long have you been blogging? I’ve been blogging since October 2010. I look back at those early pictures and go “Ack.” I’ve come a long way, baby (as they say).
  2. Why did you start blogging? I really was looking for something to do on SL. I was a DJ in the early days but didn’t want that kind of obligation again. Yet as a loner, I kind of needed a purpose. I love to dress up and I love photography, so Voila!
  3. How many times a week do you post an entry? Probably 4-6 times a week. There have been a couple of periods when I was away from it for one reason or another, but not too many. I’m fairly consistent.
  4. How many different blogs do you read on a regular basis? I read the feeds so I’m constantly scanning. In RL, I’m more of a Twitter gal. But I like to keep up to date on SL blogs. I’ve got some of my faves on my blogroll.
  5. Do you comment on other people’s blogs? Not too much. I worship from afar, which is sad really. I’m inspired by so many blogs so I really should let my appreciation be known, shouldn’t I?
  6. Do you keep track of how many visitors you have? I have a hit counter on my site but I’m not so interested in cumulative as I am in individual days and where people are coming from. I like the stats I can get on WordPress.
  7. Did you ever regret a post that you wrote? Nope. I’m drama-free! I try to keep my blog posts light and fun. It’s about the clothes for me.
  8. Do you think your readers have a true sense of who you are based on your blog? Oh, I don’t know. It’s very hard to speculate on how I might be perceived. I guess a big part of me thinks that people don’t read my blog to get a sense of me….just to get a sense of some good shopping tips!
  9. Do you blog under your real name? My real SL name!
  10. Are there topics that you would never blog about? Being strictly a fashion/style blogger, I mainly focus on fashion that I like. I don’t do a critique of the clothing in the traditional sense. If there’s something about an item that I don’t like or that doesn’t appeal to me, I don’t blog the item. I’d never wear something I didn’t like and then hack on it.
  11. What is the theme/topic of your blog? Second Life fashion and my interpretation and enjoyment of it.
  12. Do you have more than one blog? No
  13. What have you found to be the benefits of blogging? Fun!! When I was participating in the 52 Week Colour Challenge I had some fun interaction with lots of great SL bloggers. But being a bit of a keep-to-myselfer, I don’t keep in touch much.
  14. So, why do you continue to blog? I love it: I love the fashion, I love expressing myself that way. I enjoy drawing attention to talented designers. I really enjoy the relationships I’ve built with several SL designers. We have a bit of a mutual admiration society going on and it’s very gratifying. Blogging gives me a sense of place in SL, and I can’t imagine letting it go just yet.

And now the outfit!
Untitled
♥Gillian

Details
outfit – Graffitiwear, Black Lace Tee and Linen Stretch Pants
boots – Lassitude & Ennui, Edenion boots, black/silver, at Fantasy Faire 2013
hair – Faenzo, LINDSAY//Dark Browns, at The Attic
skin – The Plastik, September’s Lovers Skin, Astrali Skin [Basic] FLF item
pose – from Vista AO

About Gillian Galicia

I'm a Canadian woman taking in the fashion of Second Life. If I meet a new friend or have a few laughs, all the better!
This entry was posted in Fashion and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.